Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest: A Disney Spectacle Rings in 2024

Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest is an iconic New Year’s Eve television special that has been broadcast annually since 1972. Originally created by legendary TV host Dick Clark as a competitor to Guy Lombardo’s more traditional New Year’s Eve special, Dick Clark aimed to make a show that would appeal to a younger audience and feature the biggest musical acts of the era.

Over its 50+ year history, Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve has become a beloved American tradition and the premiere way for people across the country to ring in the new year. The show is known for its dazzling performances, celebrity appearances, and of course, the famous ball drop in New York’s Times Square at midnight.

Event Details


This year’s edition of Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest will air live on December 31, 2023 on ABC. The show kicks off at 8 PM EST and runs for over 5 hours, counting down to midnight and featuring musical performances from today’s hottest artists. The show is hosted by radio personality and American Idol host Ryan Seacrest, who took over hosting duties in 2005 after Dick Clark suffered a stroke.

Seacrest will be joined by co-hosts including singer Rita Ora in Times Square, TV host Jeannie Mai in Los Angeles, and Dayanara Torres in Puerto Rico. In addition to the main show broadcast from Times Square, there will be additional festivities and performances happening in Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Puerto Rico, and even South Korea.

Some of the A-list performers set to take the stage this year includes:

  • New York: Green Day, Megan Thee Stallion, Sabrina Carpenter, Jelly Roll
  • Los Angeles: Doechii, Ellie Goulding, Thirty Seconds to Mars, Janelle Monae
  • Las Vegas: Post Malone
  • Puerto Rico: Ivy Queen
  • South Korea: K-pop group NewJeans

The night will be filled with energetic performances of today’s most popular hits as well as all-time favorites. And of course, everything leads up to the iconic Times Square ball drop moment as we count down to midnight on the East Coast and welcome 2024!

Past Year Events

Over the years, the show has seen a variety of memorable performances and moments. In 2022, the show attracted 19.6 million viewers. The show has been the No. 1 New Year’s Eve special for over 30 years, with the 2023 edition drawing 13.8 million total viewers and peaking at 17.9 million viewers in the midnight quarter-hour.

Over its 50+ year history, Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve has featured show-stopping performances from music’s biggest stars. Last year’s edition featured artists like Post Malone, Journey, Karol G, Polo G, Nelly, and more rocking the stage as over 19 million viewers tuned in to watch across America. Other iconic New Year’s Rockin’ Eve moments over the years include:

  • 2022: Performances from Avril Lavigne, Travis Barker, AJR, and more
  • 2021: Jennifer Lopez headlined with a spectacular performance before the ball drop
  • 2019: Christina Aguilera celebrated 25 years since her first appearance on the show
  • 2017: Mariah Carey made her triumphant return after her infamous 2016 performance
  • 2011: Lady Gaga and Justin Bieber both made their debuts as performers
  • 2005: Ryan Seacrest’s first year taking over as host after Dick Clark’s stroke
  • 1998: Backstreet Boys perform their hit “Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)”
  • 1993: Whitney Houston gives a dazzling performance of “I Will Always Love You”

Part of what makes New Year’s Rockin’ Eve so magical is seeing music’s hottest contemporary artists perform alongside legendary acts over the show’s 50+ year history. The 2023 edition promises to continue this tradition, with fresh new talent and all-time greats coming together to ring in the new year.

Time and Date

Ryan Seacrest

Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest will air live on December 31, 2023 starting at 8 PM EST on ABC. Here is a timeline of what viewers can expect during the 5+ hour broadcast:

  • 8:00 PM EST: Show kickoff with hosts Ryan Seacrest, Rita Ora, Jeannie Mai, and Dayanara Torres
  • 9:00 PM EST: Post Malone performance from Las Vegas
  • 10:00 PM EST: Performances from Los Angeles and Puerto Rico
  • 11:30 PM EST: Hollywood party wrap-up and Times Square performances begin
  • 11:59 PM EST: 60 second countdown to midnight and the iconic Times Square ball drop
  • 12:00 AM EST: Welcome to 2024! Celebrations continue with more epic performances
  • 2:00 AM EST: Show wrap-up as the party continues into the early morning hours

So be sure to tune into ABC on New Year’s Eve starting at 8/7c as we rock in 2024 with epic musical performances and dazzling celebrations across America and around the world!

History of the Event

Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve was created by legendary TV producer and host Dick Clark himself. Clark sought to create a New Year’s Eve show that would appeal to younger viewers and feature pop music performances, in contrast to the more formal big band atmosphere of other holiday specials at the time. The first ever edition aired on NBC on December 31, 1972 and was actually titled “Three Dog Night’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve,” featuring the band Three Dog Night as hosts and performers.

Dick Clark hosted coverage from Times Square, while Three Dog Night performed at a celebration in Long Beach, California. The special moved to ABC the following year and was renamed Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve, with Clark taking over full hosting duties. Musical guests in those early years included acts like Olivia Newton-John, KC & The Sunshine Band, and The Beach Boys. Over the years, the show has featured some of music’s greatest hitmakers across all genres.

Iconic performers include Whitney Houston, Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Backstreet Boys, Christina Aguilera, Jennifer Lopez, Mariah Carey, and many more. Sadly, Dick Clark suffered a stroke in late 2004 and was unable to host his namesake New Year’s special in 2005. He chose Ryan Seacrest as his successor, and Seacrest has now hosted the show for nearly 20 years since Clark’s passing in 2012.

Today, Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest remains a beloved holiday tradition for Americans across the country. With its dazzling musical performances, celebrity appearances, and Times Square excitement, the show allows viewers to ring in each new year with glitz, glamour and their favorite pop stars. The 2023 edition is sure to carry on that spectacular legacy with an electrifying lineup celebrating the year’s best music.


Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest has become an iconic way to celebrate the end of one year and the start of another. With its star-studded musical lineup, national and global celebrations, and Disney magic, this beloved special is sure to help viewers ring in 2024 in spectacular fashion. Whether you tune in to watch the Times Square festivities with hosts Ryan Seacrest and Rita Ora, catch awe-inspiring performances from Green Day, Janelle Monáe, and other hit artists, or see how New Year’s Eve is marked around the world, this show offers something for everyone.

The energy and excitement that Dick Clark and now Ryan Seacrest have brought to this event for over 50 years will continue this year with a Disney twist. As we prepare to bid 2023 farewell and welcome 2024, there is no better way to commemorate the year gone by and look ahead to the promise of the year to come than by watching Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest. It brings light, joy, and magic to viewers around the world – exactly what you’d expect from a Disney spectacular. So join the celebration and let this momentous event help kick off your happiest year yet with Disney and Dick Clark’s rockin’ New Year’s bash.